



PRESS RELEASE

Wednesday, March 15, 2023

Contacts: Stephanie Hoekenga, CTC Outreach Specialist, shoekeng@muskegonisd.org, 231-767-3613

Photo Link/Caption: Outstanding Jr.jpg— Outstanding Junior Award recipients Andres Cotto-Cribley (Fruitport), Yassenia Chacon (Fruitport), and Kaydence Wetmore (Ravenna)

<u>Academic.jpg</u>– Academic Excellence Award winners Lauren Douglas (Reeths-Puffer) and Sydney Norkus (Fruitport)

New Chapter.jpg— Andres Cotto-Cribley (Fruitport) and Yassenia Chacon (Fruitport) with the charter for the new FFA chapter for the CTC

Challenge 24.jpg - Sydney Norkus (Fruitport) with her Challenge 24 certificate

<u>State_Degree.jpg</u>- State FFA Degree recipients Brayden Fry (Ravenna), Madalyn Simpson (Reeths-Puffer), Lauren Douglas (Reeths-Puffer), and Sydney Norkus

State Officer.jpg-2023-24 State Officer, Madalyn Simpson (Reeths-Puffer)

Career Tech Center students recognized at 95th State FFA Convention

MUSKEGON: FFA members from the Environmental/Veterinary Sciences (EVS) program at the Career Tech Center (CTC) in Muskegon traveled to Michigan State University (MSU) to participate in the 95th Michigan FFA State Convention, March 8-10, 2023. During convention several CTC students were recognized through awards and degrees, and one hardworking CTC student was elected Region V State Vice President!

EVS student, and FFA member, Madalyn Simpson (Reeths-Puffer) was elected to the 2023-24 Michigan FFA State Officer Team. Madalyn is the first FFA member from the CTC Chapter to ever be elected as a State Officer. She will begin her role as Vice President in June. She was also recognized for her role in the state Diversity Equity and Inclusion Team.

Madalyn, Brayden Fry (Ravenna), Lauren Douglas (Reeths-Puffer), and Sydney Norkus (Fruitport) received State FFA Degrees. Joining them was EVS Instructor Katie Courtade who received an Honorary State Degree for her exceptional service as an agricultural education teacher. The FFA State Degree is the highest degree a FFA member can receive at the state level. Recipients need to have completed a Supervised Agriculture Experience (SAE) program, been active in FFA activities at the local and state level, and been enrolled in an agricultural program for at least two years to receive this honor, which includes six credits from MSU.

MacKenzie Wheeler (Reeths-Puffer), Jenna Beckman (Orchard View), Arianna Grant (Oakridge), Mallory Bowyer (Fruitport), Allison Fritz (Fruitport), Cloey Beebe (Reeths-Puffer), Lauren, and Sydney earned Gold Awards for Academic Excellence. Students must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher, be enrolled in an agricultural program for two years, have earned their FFA Chapter Degree, and demonstrated exceptional leadership and citizenship to qualify. Sydney was also recognized for completing Challenge 24, a teacher academy and scholarship program for students interested in teaching Agricultural Education.

Receiving Outstanding Junior Awards were Andres Cotto-Cribley (Fruitport), Yassenia Chacon (Fruitport), and Kaydence Wetmore (Ravenna). Outstanding Juniors must have completed ten hours of community service, have a GPA of 2.5 or higher, be active in state level FFA activities, and have worked 150 unpaid hours or invested \$500 in their SAE.

"Our students were represented a lot during this year's sessions. It was pretty cool," shared EVS Instructor Katie Courtade.

Another celebratory moment for the CTC was when EVS students Andres and Yassenia accepted the charter for a second FFA Chapter for the CTC. With the new chapter for the afternoon session of the CTC, more students will now be able to participate in FFA starting next year.

To learn more about the Environmental/Veterinary Science program, or any of the fifteen other career prep programs at the Career Tech Center visit <u>muskegonctc.org</u>.

###